The PC is recognized as the best hardware of all time; Gabe Newell accepts the award

What happened now? The Golden Joystick Awards took place yesterday, highlighting some of this year’s best games. We also saw the winners announced in two very interesting categories: the best equipment and the game of all time. Unsurprisingly, he learned that the first was won by the PC, and none other than Gabe Newell himself accepted the award. In the latter case, Dark Souls has been hailed as the best game of all time.

This year’s Golden Joystick Awards – the world’s longest-running gaming awards ceremony since 1983 – celebrated “50th Anniversary of Gaming” with two major categories of all time. Voters in the hardware section had to choose from a list that included the best-selling home computer of all time, the Commodore 64, and the most popular console in history, the PlayStation 2. But as expected, the PC went. left with the prize after gaining 17% of the vote. And who better to accept the award than Valve boss Gabe Newell.

“Gamers and developers have benefited tremendously from the relentless innovation in PC gaming hardware,” Newell said. “On behalf of all those who made the PC the best gaming hardware of all time, I am honored to receive this award.”

A somewhat less expected result was the winner of the Ultimate Game of All Time. Again, the public had to vote from a list of 20 titles that included classic (Pac-Man, Tetris) and more modern (GTA V) recordings. This writer voted for Half-Life 2 considering The Witcher 3 didn’t fit, but it was Dark Souls that won the award with 12% of the vote, although it was nice to see 1993’s Doom in a very close second place. with a share of 11%.

Elsewhere, Resident Evil Village, one of our best PC games (you have to play), won Game of the Year and also won the Best Sound and Best Performer award for her portrayal of Lady Dimitrescu, played by Maggie Robertson. Critical choice fell on Deathloop (another of our favorites), which also has eight Game Awards nominations.

Full list of Golden Joystick winners:

  • Best Story: Life is Strange: True Colors
  • Best Multiplayer Game – It Takes Two
  • Best Audio – Resident Evil: Village
  • Best Visual Design – Ratchet and Clank: Rift Apart
  • Best Game Expansion – Ghost of Tsushima: Iki Island Expansion
  • Mobile Game of the Year – League of Legends: Wild Rift
  • Best Gaming Hardware – PS5
  • Best Indie Game – Death’s Door
  • Studio of the Year – Capcom
  • Best Female Artist – Maggie Robertson (Lady Dimitrescu)
  • Breakthrough Award – Housemarque
  • Best Gaming Community – Final Fantasy 14
  • Still Playing Awards – Final Fantasy 14
  • PC Game of the Year – Hitman 3
  • Nintendo Game of the Year – Metroid Dread
  • Xbox Game of the Year – Psychonauts 2
  • PlayStation Game of the Year – Resident Evil Village
  • Most Wanted Game – Elden Ring
  • Critics’ Choice Awards – Deathloop
  • Best Game of the Year – Resident Evil Village
  • Best Hardware of All Time – PC
  • Best Game of All Time – Dark Souls

Source link

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button