Tech

How to factory reset your phone before selling it

Sister worth looking for buy a new iPhone or have your eye on one of the best android phones, you need to dry your old phone before you can sell or transmit it. Your old phone is probably full of precious memories, so be sure to make a backup copy or transfer everything (in particular and photos) before following this guide to reset it.

There are several ways to exchange or sell your old iPhone o Android phone, but you have to dry it well first. It’s not just about late night texts or embarrassing selfies falling into the wrong hands; failing to restore the factory could land you in a world of pain. If you don’t sign in properly and delete accounts, you may end up missing new incoming messages, and factory reset protection on Android phones can block buyers even after the device has been wiped.

How to Factory-Reset your iPhone

Before you do anything, save your iPhone. Next, it’s a good idea to unpack yours Apple Watch if you have one. You can do this in the Watch app on your iPhone by going to the U mo Watch tab, Tap All Watches, and select the info button next to the clock you want to unblock before tapping Unpair Apple Watch.

To avoid any missing message if you plan to switch from iPhone to Android, immerse yourself in it Settings> Messages, and change iMessage off. After doing this, remove the SIM card from your iPhone.

Go to Settings and tap your name, then iCloud, and scroll down to turn off Find my iPhone. Tap Apple ID at the top left to go back, and run all the way to the bottom to touch it Hang out. You have to enter your password and tap it Hang out back.

Now you are ready to wipe the iPhone. Go to Settings > General > Reset > Delete All Content and Configuration. You will be asked to confirm, and it may take a few minutes to complete the process.

How to factory reset your Android phone

Start from backup your Android phone, then remove all the MicroSD cards and your SIM card.

Android has an anti-theft measure called Factory Reset Protection (FRP). It means that, even after wiping an Android phone, you need the latest Google Account login to set it up again. You need to disable FRP correctly. Go to Settings > Security > Lock Screen, and set to Nobody.

The next step is to delete your Google account, but we recommend deleting all your accounts at the same time. You can do this in Touch Settings Accounts. Pick each in turn and tap Remove the account.

Now you can wipe the Android phone, but this process is slightly different depending on what your phone did. On a Google Pixel, for example, go to Settings > System > Advanced, and choose Reset Options, so what Delete All Data (factory reset). On a Samsung Galaxy S21, go to Settings > General Management > Reset, and choose Factory Data Reset before running to the bottom and tapping Reset is Delete All.

Here we go. Your device is ready for the next phase of its life. Here are some ideas on what to do with your old phone. You can also try to install it as a security camera!


More Great WIRED Stories

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button