ACHE to Honor Five Leaders for Their Leadership and Achievement in Health Development

The American College of Health Leaders honors five individuals who have made significant contributions to the healthcare industry by serving their communities and demonstrating leadership qualities.

The organization’s 2022 award recipients are Michael Fosina, former senior vice president of NewYork-Presbyterian; John Blueford III, president and founder of the Blueford Health Leadership Institute; Callie Andrews, Senior Vice President, Wellstar Health System Georgia; Zeff Ross, former executive vice president of Florida Memorial Healthcare System; and Stephen Sachs, former executive director of the Washington State Department of Health.

As a gold medal winner Fosina will receive the ACHE’s highest award, which honors outstanding leaders who provide leadership at the local, state, and national levels, moving beyond their organization to improve healthcare services and improve community health.

Fosina has worked for NewYork-Presbyterian for over 20 years, most recently as a systemic senior vice president and president of NewYork-Presbyterian Lawrence Hospital in Bronxville. He is the immediate chairman of ACHE from 2019 to 2020.

He is an active fellow at the New York Academy of Medicine, as well as an advisory board member of the University of Delaware College of Health Sciences and a member of the board of trustees of the Silvercrest Nursing and Rehabilitation Center.

For the first time since 2015 ACHE President and CEO Deborah Bowen has decided to present the President’s Award to Blueford for his contribution to the field and exemplary service.

In 2012, he founded the Bluford Healthcare Leadership Institute to introduce undergraduate students from underrepresented groups to health care administration. In a career spanning four decades, Bluford was President and CEO of Truman Medical Centers in Kansas City, Missouri for 15 years, and in 2011 served as Chairman of the American Hospital Association.

He has received numerous awards throughout his life, including the 2019 American Hospital Association Honorary Award, the 2017 Booker T. Washington Award from the Minority Quality Forum, and the National Center for Health Leadership’s Gail L. Worden Excellence Award in Healthcare. in 2013.

Over 15 years in leadership positionsAndrews wins the Robert S. Hudgens Memorial Award for best young health care executive. The award recognizes an ACHE leader and researcher under 40 who has made significant progress in healthcare management.

Andrews is Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of Wellstar Health System Kennestone and Windy City Hospitals in Marietta, Georgia. She previously served as COO of Eastside Medical Center, where she oversaw the organization’s ancillary clinical and support departments, outpatient services, mental health services, and inpatient rehabilitation.

Ross and Sachs receive ACHE Lifetime Service awards. The title was established in 2000 to honor Lifetime or Retired Fellows who have benefited ACHE through their position in elected office, service on ACHE committees, or participation in ACHE events or chapters.

Prior to retiring in 2019, Ross spent 28 years with Memorial Healthcare System in Hollywood, Florida, most recently as executive vice president of the system, as well as CEO of Memorial Regional Hospital. He first joined ACHE as a student in 1978 and then took on the role of Regent from 2003 to 2006 and volunteered on the Advisory Board of Regents and the Ethics Committee.

Trained as a pharmacist, Sachs began his career in inpatient and outpatient healthcare settings, moving into public health in 2006 when he joined the Washington State Department of Health. He first joined ACHE in 1986 and later helped found the Washington State Health Executive Forum, the state’s official chapter of ACHE. He stepped down from the state health department as executive director in 2019.

Last year, Sacks joined the Washington State Medical Reserve Corps to provide clinical support for COVID-19 vaccination and testing clinics. He has received the Outstanding Leadership Award from the Washington State Pharmacy Association, the Regents Award from the ACHE Regent in Washington, and several branch service awards.

Recipients will formally receive their awards during the 65th ACHE Healthcare Leadership Congress, March 28-31 in Chicago.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button