Gaming

Konami Celebrates 35 Years Of Castlevania With NFT Auction

Image: Konami

This year Konami Castlevania Series turns 35 and you can hope the Japanese veteran is planning on releasing a new game or a special collection of past games. However, we are sad to report that – at least for now – Konami’s celebration consists of an auction of NFT art belonging to the series.

Collection “KONAMI MEMORIAL NFT” https://www.nintendolife.com/features “14 unique pieces of art from the Castlevania series” consisting of “game scenes, background music (BGM) and newly rendered visuals from the entire history of the series. ‘

The collection will be exhibited at a worldwide auction Open sea (popular NFT trading platform) from the following times:

  • (US East) Jan 12, 5:00 PM – Jan 14, 9:00 PM EST
  • (US West) January 12, 2:00 pm – January 14, 6:00 pm PT
  • (UK) January 12, 22:00 – January 15, 02:00 GMT
  • (Japan) Jan 13, 07:00 – Jan 15, 11:00 JST

You can find out more about individual works of art at official site.

Castlevania nft
Image: Konami

So what does buying give you? Well, to be honest, not that much. You will of course “own” the NFTs, but they are not particularly unique – these are all scenes and audio taken from games, not completely unique content created specifically for this auction.

“You will have the right to have your desired nickname listed as the first NFT customer on our website,” says Konami. However, the time period that your name will be online runs from mid-February 2022 to December 31, 2022, so this is not a permanent deal (although Konami does state that this period may be extended).

If that weren’t discouraging enough, it might seem like Konami – like Square Enix, Sega, Ubisoft, and EA – has big plans for NFT, and this is just the beginning:

KONAMI MEMORIAL NFT is a new content sharing initiative that has been enjoyed by players around the world for years. KONAMI is the company’s first project in this area, in which NFT and blockchain technologies are in their infancy, and will continue to explore new developments and listen to player feedback after this initial collection.




Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button