Gaming

Gamescom Live Streams: All the Events to Watch This Week

This week kicks off the all-digital Gamescom event, bringing with it a slew of new game announcements and the biggest upcoming games.

Gamescom 2021 will be an all-digital event for the second year in a row after organizers scrapped plans to host a hybrid show that combines digital elements with local events due to restrictions related to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Gamescom’s 2021 Main Event Days will run from August 26-27, following a live demo to celebrate the opening, which will again be produced by journalist Jeff Keighley.

Major game publishers including Xbox, EA, Sega and Activision have confirmed their attendance at this month’s event.

Read all of the major Gamescom livestreams you need to watch out for, and stay tuned to VGC news as it comes in.


Destiny 2 Demo

Bungie is about to spend Showcase of fate on Tuesday, Aug 24, 9:00 AM PT / 5:00 PM BST / 6:00 PM CEST with a detailed description of the season of the missing and possibly the Witch Queen expansion next year.

Potentially, this event could add even more weight to the alleged leak, with a detailed description of the game’s future roadmap. Destiny 2 may be set to receive Halo-themed content as part of Bungie’s 30th Anniversary plans later this year, according to a document claiming to contain leaked content.

Notification: To display this insert, please allow the use of functional cookies in Cookie settings

The Destiny 2 Community is documenting the elements of the alleged leak that it has since been proven to be correctand an important milestone was reached this week when Bungie confirmed the next season of the game, Season of the Lost, first named as a “leak” in the post.


Xbox Gamescom Stream

The official Xbox Stream at Gamescom 2021 is set for August 24, Tuesday v 10:00 PT / 18:00 BST / 19:00 CEST and will offer “in-depth updates to some of our previously announced Xbox Game Studios games, along with some of our third-party partners,” as well as news on games coming to Xbox Game Pass.

Xbox Game Studios will likely use this event to provide updates on upcoming 2021 games like Forza Horizon 5 and Halo Infinite.

Notification: To display this insert, please allow the use of functional cookies in Cookie settings

Users can watch shows on Youtube, Twitch, Facebook games, Twitterand select regional sites such as VK.com in Russia and Bilibili in China.

In addition, Xbox also points to Gamescom: Opening Night Live on August 25 in its brief outline of the show’s plans, which could suggest the platform owner will also be presenting some of their games during the show hosted by Jeff Keighley.

In addition to the Xbox event, Bethesda Germany will have its own live streaming program for several days starting on August 26th. You can tune in to Bethesda’s MainStream at Twitch


Gamescom Premiere Live

Gamescom will once again host its own live event at Wednesday 25 August Koelnmesse and the German Game Industry Association have confirmed that more than 30 games will be shown live on Premiere.

The live premiere starts at 10:30 AM PT / 1:30 PM ET / 6:30 PM BST / 7:30 PM CEST with a half-hour pre-show followed by a two-hour main event.

Gamescom Live Streams: All the Events to Watch This Week

“We’re thrilled to release another Gamescom: Opening Night Live, which will feature over 30 games from across the industry this year,” said event host and producer Jeff Keighley.

“The community can look forward to new games, updates on the most anticipated games and other surprises with on-stage guests and more, all streamed live to fans around the world.”

This year, for the first time, Kaylee will be joined by a co-host from Germany, and Natasha Becker from GameStar will perform on stage.


Gamescom Awesome Indie Games

The indie-focused showcase will take place again at Thursday, Aug 26, 11:00 AM PT / 7:00 PM BST / 8:00 PM CEST, and offers an exclusive look and feel and “the most addictive indie games on the horizon.”

Notification: To display this insert, please allow the use of functional cookies in Cookie settings

The event, which is hosted by IGN’s website, will once again be hosted by internet personality Michael Swaim from Los Angeles, California.

Announcements and trailers will be interspersed with “comedy plots and other surprises at various venice Beach locations.”


Show of future games

Future Publishing’s Future Games Show at Gamescom arrives at Thursday, August 26, 1:00 pm PT / 9:00 pm ET / 10:00 pm CET.hosted by Maggie Robertson (Lady Dimitrescu from Resident Evil Village) and Aaron Laplante (Duke from Resident Evil Village).

Notification: To display this insert, please allow the use of functional cookies in Cookie settings

“This special edition of Gamescom’s Future Games Show will feature over 40 games from various publishers including Frontier Developments, Team17, Koch Media and Tripwire Interactive,” said Future.

“The Future Games Show has been watched by over 100 million people to date, including the record-breaking E3 2021 event, which attracted over three million live viewers and over 35 million post-show views.”

',a='';return t.replace("ID",e)+a}function lazyLoadYoutubeIframe(){var e=document.createElement("iframe"),t="ID?autoplay=1";t+=0===this.parentNode.dataset.query.length?'':'&'+this.parentNode.dataset.query;e.setAttribute("src",t.replace("ID",this.parentNode.dataset.src)),e.setAttribute("frameborder","0"),e.setAttribute("allowfullscreen","1"),e.setAttribute("allow", "accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture"),this.parentNode.parentNode.replaceChild(e,this.parentNode)}document.addEventListener("DOMContentLoaded",function(){var e,t,p,a=document.getElementsByClassName("rll-youtube-player");for(t=0;t