At first, you will lose access to your chat list. The only way the app will allow you to send a message or call someone is if they contact you first and tap the notification from WhatsApp. After a few more weeks, the app will stop sending messages and calls to your phone at all. The exact time that the process begins for individual holdouts will be different for everyone.
Once you reach the second stage, your options are limited if you do not accept the policy at this point. You can export your chat history or download a report from your account. You can also cancel it, even if WhatsApp warns that it’s something you can’t reverse. Finally, it may not matter much. Part of a separate policy, WhatsApp automatically deletes accounts after 120 days of inactivity.
All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, you can earn an affiliate commission.